Skip to main content
American National Biography
Online version of the multi-volume set that provides scholarly biographies of important people in all walks of American life.
Biography in Context
Information on people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. Includes content from dozens of published reference works and hundreds of periodicals.
Finding Known Articles
Steps for finding items listed in bibliographies
- Locate a bibliographic citation. Look at the list of sources in subject encyclopedias and bibliographies.
- Determine if the source is a book or an article in a journal. Some clues
Does it have volume and/or issue numbers? Does the date include a month? Then it's most likely from a journal.
Is a publisher and/or place of publication included in the citation? Then it is probably from a book.
- Check to see if we have local access to the item or can obtain through interlibrary loan.
- What if we don't own it? Request it from another through interlibrary loan. Log into Illiad to create the request or use the Interlibrary Loan links in WorldCat and article databases. Interlibrary Loan is free for students!
US History to 1865 Reference
The academic alternative to Wikipedia! Provides access to nearly 500 encyclopedias and dictionaries. Search by concept map. Includes thousands of searchable images.
Encyclopedia of Women in American History
Call Number: Lilly Library Reference (HQ1410 .E53 2002 )
Publication Date: 2002-01-03
Women in Early America
Call Number: Lilly Library Reference (HQ1416 .M395 2004 )
Publication Date: 2004-11-23
Encyclopedia of Women Social Reformers
Publication Date: 2001-12-06
The first comprehensive guide to women activists from every part of the world, illuminating the broad range of women's struggles to reform society from the 18th century to the present.
A to Z of Native American Women
Call Number: Lilly Library Reference (E98.W8 S65 1998 )
Publication Date: 1998-05-01
Biographical Dictionary of American Indian History to 1900
Call Number: Lilly Library Reference (E89 .W35 2001 )
Publication Date: 2000-12-01
Encyclopedia of African American Culture and History, 2nd ed.
Publication Date: 2005
A five-volume set and supplement covering all aspects of the African-American experience from 1619 to the present day. Using biographies, historical essays, and thematic pieces, many written by foremost scholars, it addresses a wide array of subjects in over 2,300 articles to define in one source the cultural roots, participation in American life, and current condition of the African-American community.
Oxford African American Studies Center
Over 7500 articles from a variety of Oxford University press books (e.g. Africana, African American National Biography), over 200 primary source documents, maps, timelines, links, and more.
Earlham College • 801 National Road West • Richmond, Indiana 47374-4095