Skip to main content
Banner Image
ESR & Bethany Resources
Science & Technology Commons
Friends Collection & College Archives
Facilities & Services
Hours
Library Home

Friends Collection and College Archives: Citing Our Collections

For detailed information about archival & genealogy collection availability check the archives home page.

Citing Collections in the Earlham Friends Collection and College Archives

Preferred Citation:

Our preferred citation for all collections is: <item>, <collection>, Friends Collection and Earlham College Archives, Richmond IN.

Examples:

  • "Biographical Sketch of Pusey Graves by Charles B. Graves", FMS 2: Pusey Graves Collection, Friends Collection and Earlham College Archives, Richmond IN.
  • “Ramallah Friends Girls' and Boys' School”, FRG 37: Friends United Meeting, Friends Collection and Earlham College Archives, Richmond IN.
  • “Earlham Athletics, 1970-71”, EC II.2-3: Official Publications, Friends Collection and Earlham College Archives, Richmond IN.

Exceptions:

Friends Pamphlet Group (FPG): Our FPG collections can be difficult to cite. Because of how our database works on the back end, we have to organize materials into subgroups.  This means our online inventory might say something like Box Misc.-G, Folder 45  or Org: R, Folder 8. Since the FPG collections are stored in filing cabinets and we constantly add new materials, the folder numbers and information like “Misc. G” or “Org: R” wouldn't have any meaning for us if we were asked to locate something for a researcher. The important information to include when citing something from one of the Friends Pamphlet Groups is the FPG collection the item is from (FPG 1, FPG 2, FPG 3, FPG 4.1, FPG 4.2, or FPG 6), the name of the folder, and the name of the item in the folder.

Examples:

"<item name in folder>", FPG 6: Scarborough-Haworth News, Friends Collection and Earlham College Archives, Richmond IN

or

"<item name in folder>", FPG 3: Prison Mission Ministries, Friends Collection and Earlham College Archives, Richmond IN.

 

Email our Archivists!

Do you have a question for our staff?

 

Email Us

Earlham College • 801 National Road West • Richmond, Indiana 47374-4095