December 13th: The Archive will be closed 11:15-1:45 for the Holiday Employee Luncheon.
End of Fall Semester (Dec. 7-18)
Please see the "Hours" tab for upcoming changes in our hours.
Friends Collection Hours and Policies
Our hours change from the ones listed below during breaks and for other expected and unexpected reasons. Please see our "Hours" page for the most up to date and accurate information.
Our normal hours are listed below. Because we are a Special Collections Library and Archive, our hours are different from the rest of the library. Please check our hours carefully to make sure we will be open for your visit.
The Earlham Libraries do not typically allow holds to be placed on materials; we follow this practice as well. However, if you need an item from the collection and the hours listed below and on our "Hours" page simply do not work for you, please contact Jenny Freed directly by e-mail or phone (765-983-1743) to see if a special accommodation can be made.
Monday-Thursday: 9-12, 1-5, 7-9
Friday: 9-12, 1-5
Saturday and Sunday: 1-4
We close for lunch between 12 and 1 weekdays.
Please note that sometimes we are in meetings or away from campus and we may have to unexpectedly close. We try to keep these times to a minimum, but we recommend calling ahead or emailing to be sure we will be open when you plan a visit. There are NO evening or weekend hours during the summer or during school breaks.
Welcome to the Friends Collection and Earlham College Archives. The Friends Collection includes the college's books and periodicals on Quakerism, manuscripts related to Friends, and Earlham College historical materials. We welcome anyone interested in our collections to visit us.
Search across our finding aids (inventories) for manuscript collections both college related and Quaker related, as well as an index of Indiana Yearly Meeting Minutes
The majority of our collections have not been digitized. Individual items -- documents, photographs, etc. -- usually cannot be viewed online. We do accept digitization requests, but fees may apply.
We are always happy to answer your questions! You can e-mail or call Jenny Freed or Tom Hamm at any time. To aid you, we've included our areas of expertise below.
|Tom Hamm||Jenny Freed|
|Quaker History||Earlham College Records|
|Genealogy||Quaker Records and Holdings|
We recommend that you submit questions in writing.
Earlham College • 801 National Road West • Richmond, Indiana 47374-4095