Skip to main content
Books and eBooks on Human Rights
Encyclopedia of Human Rights
Call Number: Lilly Reference Section: JC 571 .E673 2009
Publication Date: 2009
This major five-volume encyclopedia offers comprehensive coverage of all aspects of human rights theory, practice, law, and history. The set will provide situation profiles and full coverage of the development of the movement, historical cases of abuse, the key figures, major organizations, and a range of other issues in economics, government, religion, and journalism that touch on human rights theory and practice.
The Human Rights Encyclopedia
Call Number: Lilly Library Reference Section: JC571 .L523 2001
Publication Date: 2001
The alphabetically arranged entries in Section I cover individual countries. Each contains brief historical background on the nation followed by a description of its human-rights record. Section II covers issues and individuals. Each article concludes with a brief, up-to-date bibliography. The appendixes contain the texts of major related United Nations documents and a list of selected human-rights organizations.
Online Country Information on Human Rights and Minority Rights
Information about the organization, documents, and links to other chapters worldwide.
Minority Rights Group International
UK-based NGO. Information and links to resources on minorities in countries around the planet. Search by e.g. Canada for a report on that country.
Human Rights Watch
A myriad of country- and issue-specific resources.
American Association for the Advancement of Science. Science and Human Rights Program
Information about the organization, publications and projects, as well as links to other human rights organizations and networks.
Committee to Protect Journalists
Links to articles, news releases, reports, a newsletter, alerts, and information about freedom of the press worldwide.
An organization dedicated to the rights of indigenous peoples and ethnic minorities worldwide. This site contains information on the organization, its projects, membership, and publications.
Human Rights First
Information about the organization, reports, press releases, and worldwide alerts. The goal of this group is to advance international human rights standards, protect refugee rights, and support local non-governmental organizations.
International Committee of the Red Cross
Information on the mission and projects of the organization, international humanitarian law, publications, and graphics.
Project Diana: Online Human Rights Archive
Collects treaties, secondary sources, court decisions, legal briefs, cases, bibliographies, and current information from human rights NGOs.
University of Minnesota Human Rights Library
A collection of the most important international human rights treaties and other instruments, decisions, resolutions, and bibliographies. It is the most comprehensive site on the web for international human rights law and has one of the best collections
Subjects:2017 Fall Semester Courses
, 2017 Spring Semester Courses
, African & African American Studies (AAAS)
, Environmental Sustainabilty
, Global Management
, Human Development & Social Relations
, International Studies
, Peace & Global Studies
Earlham College • 801 National Road West • Richmond, Indiana 47374-4095