Skip to main content
Current Events Databases (Full Text)
LexisNexis Academic (now Nexis Uni)
Access limited to Earlham students and employees
Full-text articles from a variety of major US and international newspapers. Select "Terms and Connectors" for the easiest, most power search. Access limited to Earlham students and employees
Full-text articles from a variety of major US and international newspapers.
Informe Académico (Spanish-language articles)
Access limited to Earlham students and employees.
Full text of Spanish-language and bilingual periodicals — including popular titles such as Actual, Latina, Siempre!, and El Nuevo Herald. A Spanish-language interface is also available. Coverag access limited to Earlham students and employees
Full text of Spanish-language and bilingual periodicals — including popular titles such as Actual, Latina, Siempre!, and El Nuevo Herald. A Spanish-language interface is also available. Coverage is 1996 to present.
90-day archive of approximately 100 newspapers from the McClatchy-Tribune Collection. Titles include: The Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, The Orlando Sentinel, and The Sacramento Bee.
Newspaper Source Plus
Provides cover-to-cover full text for 20 national (U.S.) & international newspapers, including The Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Times (London), Toronto Star, etc.
The Chronicle of Higher Education
Weekly news and job-information source for college and university faculty members, administrators, and students.
US Midwest Newsstream
US Midwest Newsstream enables users to search the most recent regional news content, as well as archives which stretch back to the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format. Midwest Newsstream covers news sources from Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Michigan, Ohio, and Wisconsin.
Historic Newspaper Archives
Library purchased archives
Full text of over 1100 magazines published in the USA between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary journals, children's and women's magazines, weekly news publications and more.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times
Full-text page images of the newspaper, including advertisements, editorial cartoons, etc. Coverage is from 1851 up to the past three years and includes the New York Times Book Review and Magazine
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998
More than 270 African American newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries.
The Times (London) Digital Archives
Full-text page images of the newspaper, including advertisements, editorial cartoons, etc. Coverage is from 1785-1985.
Full text of over 70 magazines published in Britain from the 1680s to the 1930s. The material herein can usually be considered "primary documents."
Illustrated London News Historical Archive: 1842-2003
Full-text page images of the complete run of the newspaper, including all content originally published. Covers social, political and cultural history, including fashion, theatre, media, literature, advertising and graphic design, and genealogy.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: South China Morning Post (1903-1995)
The first English language newspaper published in Hong Kong. Provides cover-to-cover full text articles from 1903 to 1995, including editorials, advertisements, cartoons, and classified advertisements, is searchable.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chinese Newspapers Collection (1832-1953)
English-language newspapers and periodicals produced in China. Includes the North China Herald (1850-1941), the Chinese Repository (1832-1851), the Chinese Recorder (1868-1941), the China Weekly Review (1923-1950), and more. Ads, social notices etc. are all separately indexed and searchable.
LexisNexis Academic (now Nexis Uni)
Full text of hundreds of US and English language international Newspapers. Also includes transcripts from TV and radio news broadcasts, major news blogs, and more. Most content from 1980s to present.
Free internet newpaper resources
Hoosier State Chronicles
Hoosier State Chronicles is operated by the Indiana State Library and funded by the U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services under the provisions of the Library Services and Technology Act. We seek to provide free, online access to high quality digital images of Indiana's historic newspapers by digitizing our collection, and assisting other organizations in making their collections digitally available.
Local / Regional Newspapers
Earlham College • 801 National Road West • Richmond, Indiana 47374-4095