Earlham Libraries Home: All English Resource Guide: Articles

Articles

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Modern Language Association's index to international journal and books on literature, linguistics, languages, folklore, and film studies, 1926 to present.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index to scholarly journals and general periodicals in all subject and interdisciplinary areas, including full text. Coverage prior to 1990 is sparse.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text of hundreds of scholarly journals in all disciplines dating back to the 1700s. Current 3-5 years usually unavailable.

Google Scholar
Add Earlham College under "Library Links" (within Settings) to access content within library database subscriptions. Google Scholar can also be used for citation searching - look for the "Cited By" link beneath the description of the article/item.

Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new window
Full text of 425 journals and magazines covering all topics dating back to the 1800s. Coverage ends at 2000.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full text of over 1200 scholarly journals in the humanities dating back to the 1990s.
American Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Full text of over 1100 magazines that began publishing in the USA between 1740 and 1900, including special interest and general magazines, literary journals, children's and women's magazines, and more. Coverage extends to 1940 at the latest.
British Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Full text of over 70 magazines published in Britain from the 1680s to the 1930s. The material herein can usually be considered "primary documents."
New York Times (Historical Newspaper Archive) This link opens in a new window
Full-text page images of the newspaper, including advertisements, editorial cartoons, etc. Coverage is from 1851 up to the past three years
Times (London) Digital Archives This link opens in a new window
Full-text page images of the newspaper, including advertisements, editorial cartoons, etc. Coverage is from 1785-1985.

Council on Undergraduate Research: Learning through Research
Submit your paper to an undergraduate peer-reviewed journal.