Skip to main content
Library Provided Collections
Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive
Contains 7,247 books, 80 serials, more than fifteen manuscript collections, & court records from the from the late 15th through the to the present. Material published through partnerships with the Amistad Research Center, Oberlin College, Oxford University, & many other institutions.
Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law
This continuously growing library contains legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. Includes: every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery; hundreds of pamphlets and books written about slavery; every English-language legal commentary on slavery published before 1920; more than a thousand pamphlets and books on slavery from the 19th century; modern histories of slavery and a section containing all modern law review articles on the subject.
Primary Document Websites
American Presidency Project
Contains over 100,000 primary secondary sources regarding the presidency. Includes:
• The Messages and Papers of the Presidents: Washington - Taft (1789-1913)
Discovering American Women's History Online
Database of digitized primary source collections covering American Women's history. Historical periods range from 17th to 21st centuries. Browse by subjects, states, time periods, primary source type or search by keyword.
Documenting the American South
Primary source material "documenting the cultural history of the American South from the viewpoint of Southerners. It offers diaries, autobiographies, travel accounts, titles on slavery and regional literature."
Early Americas Digital Archive
Documents from 1492 until the 1800s written in or about America.
EuroDocs: Primary Historical Documents From Western Europe
An extensive primary source database that focuses on key historical happenings in Western Europe from medieval times to the present. Searchable by country.
European History Primary Sources
Attempts to bring together all digitized primary sources pertaining to European history. A joint venture between organizations participating in the European University Institute.
Founders Early Access
Thousands of unpublished documents from our nation's founders. Includes the papers of Benjamin Franklin, George Washington, the Adams family, Thomas Jefferson, James Madison, and Alexander Hamilton.
Histopop - The Online Historical Population Reports Website
Historical study of British population before WW II. Includes census data and maps.
Making of America
Contains some 360,000 pages of original printed text from several thousand volumes of primary sources related to the development of US infrastructure during the antebellum period and reconstruction.
Online Primary Document Collections
Categorized guide to collections compiled by librarians at Cal State San Marcos Library.
Plowshares Digital Archive for Peace Studies
Primary documents covering the social justice efforts of Earlham College, Goshen College, and Manchester College, as well as their affiliated historic peace churches (Quakers, Mennonites, and the Church of the Brethren) from the 1700s to the present. Includes diaries, minutes, correspondence, pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals.
Primary Sources Documents on the Holocaust
Includes documents related to the Holocaust such as the Wannsee protocol, eyewitness accounts, speeches, and much more.
Scripps Library and Multimedia Archive
Archive of Presidential recordings, speeches, documents and oral histories. Includes over 2,500 hours of secret White House recordings. Searchable by keyword.
UK National Archives
Britain offers a wide range of digitized documents from the Domesday Book (ca 1085 AD) to current day. A variety of materials is available through the Exhibitions link.
US National Archives
Provides access to over 1,200 digitized documents from the records of the US government. Searchable by keywords and tags.
Associate Library Director
Subjects:2017 Fall Semester Courses
, 2017 Spring Semester Courses
, African & African American Studies (AAAS)
, Chinese Studies
, Museum Studies
, Theatre Arts
, Women's, Gender, Sexuality Studies
Earlham College • 801 National Road West • Richmond, Indiana 47374-4095