Skip to main content
Journal and Magazine Articles
America: History and Life
The most comprehensive resource for finding articles on US and Canadian history. Citations (and some full text) from more than 1,700 journals in over 40 languages back to 1964.
Citations (and some full text) from more than 1,800 journals in over 40 languages back to 1955. Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 forward, including world history, military history, women’s history, history of education, and much more.
Full text of hundreds of scholarly journals in all disciplines dating back to the 1700s. Current 3-5 years usually unavailable.
Full text of over hundreds of scholarly journals in the humanities dating back to the 1990s
Periodicals Archive Online
Full text of 425 journals and magazines covering all topics dating back to the 1800s. Coverage ends at 1995.
Academic Search Premier
Comprehensive index to scholarly journals and general periodicals in all subject and interdisciplinary areas, including full text. Coverage prior to 1990 is sparse.
Full text of over 1100 magazines published in the USA between 1740 and 1940 including special interest, children's, women's & general magazines, literary journals and more.
Historic Newspaper Archives
Library purchased archives
Full text of over 1100 magazines published in the USA between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary journals, children's and women's magazines, weekly news publications and more.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times
Full-text page images of the newspaper, including advertisements, editorial cartoons, etc. Coverage is from 1851 up to the past three years and includes the New York Times Book Review and Magazine
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998
More than 270 African American newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries.
The Times (London) Digital Archives
Full-text page images of the newspaper, including advertisements, editorial cartoons, etc. Coverage is from 1785-1985.
Full text of over 70 magazines published in Britain from the 1680s to the 1930s. The material herein can usually be considered "primary documents."
Illustrated London News Historical Archive: 1842-2003
Full-text page images of the complete run of the newspaper, including all content originally published. Covers social, political and cultural history, including fashion, theatre, media, literature, advertising and graphic design, and genealogy.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: South China Morning Post (1903-1995)
The first English language newspaper published in Hong Kong. Provides cover-to-cover full text articles from 1903 to 1995, including editorials, advertisements, cartoons, and classified advertisements, is searchable.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chinese Newspapers Collection (1832-1953)
English-language newspapers and periodicals produced in China. Includes the North China Herald (1850-1941), the Chinese Repository (1832-1851), the Chinese Recorder (1868-1941), the China Weekly Review (1923-1950), and more. Ads, social notices etc. are all separately indexed and searchable.
LexisNexis Academic (now Nexis Uni)
Full text of hundreds of US and English language international Newspapers. Also includes transcripts from TV and radio news broadcasts, major news blogs, and more. Most content from 1980s to present.
Free internet newpaper resources
Hoosier State Chronicles
Hoosier State Chronicles is operated by the Indiana State Library and funded by the U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services under the provisions of the Library Services and Technology Act. We seek to provide free, online access to high quality digital images of Indiana's historic newspapers by digitizing our collection, and assisting other organizations in making their collections digitally available.
Associate Library Director
Subjects:2017 Fall Semester Courses
, 2017 Spring Semester Courses
, 2018 Fall Semester Courses
, African & African American Studies (AAAS)
, Chinese Studies
, Global Management
, Museum Studies
, Theatre Arts
, Women's, Gender, Sexuality Studies
Earlham College • 801 National Road West • Richmond, Indiana 47374-4095