Skip to main content
The Cambridge Guide to American Theatre
Call Number: Lilly Library Reference (PN2221 .C36 2007)
Publication Date: 2007-09-13
This new and updated encyclopedic guide, with over 2700 cross-referenced entries, covers all aspects of the American theatre from its earliest history to the present. Entries include people, venues and companies scattered through the USA, plays and musicals, and theatrical phenomena. Additionally, there are some 100 topical entries covering theatre in major US cities and such disparate subjects as Asian American theatre, Chicano theatre, censorship, Filipino American theatre, one-person performances, performance art, and puppetry. Major popular forms are represented in entries such as circus, burlesque, vaudeville, and tent shows. Highly illustrated, the Guide is supplemented with a thorough historical survey as introduction, a bibliography of major sources published since the compilation of the first edition, and a unique and valued biographical index covering over 3200 individuals mentioned in the text. This new edition includes hundreds of new and updated entries, making it the most up-to-date guide to American theatre available.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance
Call Number: Lilly Library Reference (PN2035 .O94 2003 )
Publication Date: 2003
Coverage ranges from ancient Greek theatre to the latest developments around the globe, including non-Western styles. Dance, opera, performance art, radio,film, and television are covered at length. The Encyclopedia also embraces para-theatrical, non-dramatic, and popular performance, including ritual, carnivals, parades, the circus, and public executions. Biographical entries cover the lives and work of major figures: actors, playwrights, directors,designers, and critics. Innovative entries on cities and regions place performance in its local social and political context.
The Oxford Companion to American Theatre
Call Number: Lilly Library Reference (PN2220 .B6 2004)
Publication Date: 2004-05-06
Guide to the American stage from its beginnings to the present. The book covers not only classic works but also many commercially successful plays plus entries on foreign figures that have influenced our dramatic development (from Shakespeare to Beckett and Pinter).
Design and Theatre Craft
Fashion, Costume, and Culture: Clothing, Headwear, Body Decorations, and Footwear through the Ages
Publication Date: 2003
Provides a broad overview of costume traditions of diverse cultures from prehistoric times to the present day. Examines more than 430 items of human decoration and adornment, ranging from togas to turbans, necklaces to tennis shoes. Explores how and why items were created, the people who made them, and their uses. This set shows how clothing, headwear, body decorations, and footwear reflect the different cultural, religious, and societal beliefs.
Associate Library Director
Subjects:2017 Fall Semester Courses
, 2017 Spring Semester Courses
, African & African American Studies (AAAS)
, Chinese Studies
, Museum Studies
, Theatre Arts
, Women's, Gender, Sexuality Studies
Earlham College • 801 National Road West • Richmond, Indiana 47374-4095