Skip to main content
Oxford Art Online
Contains the 34-volume reference set, The Grove Dictionary of Art, the Oxford Companion to Western Art, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics and more.
Blackwell Reference Online (now Wiley Online Library)
Includes the complete texts of almost 300 encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and other reference works from Wiley Blackwell Publishing in the Wiley Blackwell Reference Online collection. Also contains description-only citations of over 21,000 other online books, journals and articles.
Hobbies & Crafts Reference Center
Includes magazines, books, videos, "how-to" instructions and hobby reports. Offers creative ideas on subject areas including arts & crafts; collecting; games & electronics; model building; home & leisure; needlework; outdoors & nature; and scrapbooking & papercraft.
The Grove Encyclopedia of Materials and Techniques in Art
Publication Date: 2008
Deals with all aspects of materials, techniques, conservation, and restoration in both traditional and nontraditional media, including ceramics, sculpture, metalwork, painting, works on paper, textiles, video, digital art, and more. Offers scholarly information on materials and techniques in art for anyone who studies, creates, collects, or deals in works of art.
Encyclopedia of Aesthetics - 2nd Edition
Publication Date: 2014
Expanded from the 1998 first edition, the second edition of the Encyclopedia surveys the full breadth of critical thought on art, culture, and society—from classical philosophy to contemporary critical theory. The second edition includes increased coverage of international aesthetics, modern aesthetics, new media like computer art, and areas like neuroaesthetics that were not thoroughly covered in the first edition.
The Oxford Companion to Western Art
Publication Date: 2003
Over 2600 entries, alphabetically arranged. Almost half of them cover artists, from classical times to the twentieth century. Other entries discuss art styles and movements, art forms (such as battle painting, landscape, caricature, or stained glass), specialist terms, and materials and techniques in all media. There is strong emphasis on location as a focus for art: not only are there regional and cultural surveys, but also entries on specific places of importance such as Paris or Urbino; and, in addition, entries on museums and galleries are arranged under the their city so that the reader can easily survey the major sites within a particular locality, such as New York, Boston, or Madrid.
The Oxford Dictionary of Art
Publication Date: 2004
Provides a careful balance of fact and critical appraisal ranging across painting, sculpture, drawing, and the applied arts. Over 3000 entries provide the reader with information on a wide range of people and subjects, including artists, critics, collectors, dealers, patrons, museums, art schools, materials, and techniques.
Credo Reference: Art search box
Earlham College • 801 National Road West • Richmond, Indiana 47374-4095