Skip to main content
Online Reference Sources
Oxford Art Online
Contains the 34-volume reference set, The Grove Dictionary of Art, the Oxford Companion to Western Art, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics and more.
Oxford Reference Online : Art & Architecture
Contains the complete texts of Oxford University Press dictionaries, encyclopedias, and other reference titles. Includes The Oxford Dictionary of Art, The Oxford Dictionary of Art and Artists, The Oxford Dictionary of American Art and Artists, The Oxford Companion to Western Art.
Biography in Context
Information on people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. Includes content from dozens of published reference works and hundreds of periodicals.
Biography Reference Bank
Offers the in-depth, original profiles from the Current Biography and World Authors series, the thorough periodical coverage of Biography Index and the specialist biographical content of Junior Authors & Illustrators. It provides biographical full-text articles, page images and abstracts from today’s leading magazines and journals.
Biography Reference Center
This database offers a collection of full-text biographies and unique narrative biographies. Including coverage for several of the most popular and heavily-researched biographies and genres, including those contained within Biography Today and Biography (both dating back to the first issue published).
The academic alternative to Wikipedia! Provides access to nearly 500 encyclopedias and dictionaries. Search by concept map. Includes thousands of searchable images.
Here is just a selection of some of the print reference resources we have at the library. Use the library catalog to find more specific items on your topic and to find books in the circulating collection.
Materials and Techniques in the Decorative Arts
Call Number: REF NK30 .M38 2000
Publication Date: 2000-08-15
In our industrialized society, it is often difficult to Devoted to the fascinating materials and techniques used in the decorative arts. Each core material,(glass, ceramics, textiles, paper, plastics, leather, metal, stone, wood, and paint) is covered from its raw state through any processing or preparation to various craft stages and finally, to any surface finishing.
The Grove Dictionary of Art
Call Number: REF N31 .D5 1996
Publication Date: 2003-02-11
34 Volumes- The electronic version is available in Oxford Art Online.
Guides to individual artists or cultures
Prestel Dictionary of Art and Artists in the 20th Century
Call Number: REF N33. P74 2000
Publication Date: 2000-08-01
One-volume dictionary provides a guide through the maze of twentieth-century art. Including artists, movements, photographers, techniques, styles..."--BOOK JACKET
Dictionary of Women Artists -- REF N8354. D5.3 1997
Contemporary Women Artists -- REF N8354 .C66 1999
North American Women Artists of the Twentieth Century -- REF N6503. N6.7 1995
Encyclopedia of Latin American & Caribbean Art -- REF N6502 .E53 1999
St. James Guide to Native North American Artists -- REF E98.A7 S8 1998
St. James Guide to Black Artists -- REF N40. S7.8 1997
St. James Guide to Hispanic Artists -- REF N6538. H58 S7 2002
Associate Library Director
Subjects:2017 Fall Semester Courses
, 2017 Spring Semester Courses
, African & African American Studies (AAAS)
, Chinese Studies
, Museum Studies
, Theatre Arts
, Women's, Gender, Sexuality Studies
Earlham College • 801 National Road West • Richmond, Indiana 47374-4095