Books and Media

Earlham Libraries Catalog & Beyond This link opens in a new window
Catalog of books, media, and other materials available in the Earlham Libraries. Also searches libraries worldwide through WorldCat.

Interlibrary Loan

Reference

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
The academic alternative to Wikipedia! Provides access to nearly 500 encyclopedias and dictionaries. Search by concept map. Includes thousands of searchable images.

Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice by Gary L. Anderson; Kathryn G. Herr
ISBN: 9781412918121
Publication Date: 2007
The Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice is designed for readers to understand the topics, concepts, and ideas that motivate and shape the fields of activism, civil engagement, and social justice and includes biographies of the major thinkers and leaders who have influenced and continue to influence the study of activism.
A Companion to International History, 1900-2001 by Gordon Martel
ISBN: 9781405125741
Publication Date: 2007
A comprehensive overview of the most important international events, movements, and controversies of the 20th century. Chronological organization
Battleground: Women, Gender, and Sexuality by Amy Lind & Stephanie Brzuzy
ISBN: 9780313340376
Publication Date: 2007
Youth Activism [2 Volumes] by Lonnie R. Sherrod (Editor); Constance A. Flanagan (Editor); Ron Kassimir (Editor); Amy K. Syvertsen (Editor)
ISBN: 0313328110
Publication Date: 2005
Features 185 essays on the history of youth activists.

Articles

Journal and Magazine Articles

Essential scholarly research sources

Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada), focusing on the 15th century forward. The standard history indexing tool for over 50 years, now including abstracts from more than 2,600 journals.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text of hundreds of scholarly journals in all disciplines dating back to the 1700s.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index to scholarly journals and general periodicals in all subject and interdisciplinary areas, including full text. Coverage prior to 1990 is sparse.

Historic Newspaper Archives

American Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Full text of over 1100 magazines that began publishing in the USA between 1740 and 1900, including special interest and general magazines, literary journals, children's and women's magazines, and more. Coverage extends to 1940 at the latest.
New York Times (Historical Newspaper Archive) This link opens in a new window
Full-text page images of the newspaper, including advertisements, editorial cartoons, etc. Coverage is from 1851 up to the past three years and includes the New York Times Book Review and the New York Times Magazine.
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 This link opens in a new window
More than 270 African American newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries.
Times (London) Digital Archives This link opens in a new window
Full-text page images of the newspaper, including advertisements, editorial cartoons, etc. Coverage is from 1785-1985.
Illustrated London News Historical Archive: 1842-2003 This link opens in a new window
Full-text page images of the complete run of the newspaper, including all content originally published. Covers social, political and cultural history, including fashion, theatre, media, literature, advertising and graphic design, and genealogy.

Primary Documents

Published Primary Documents

Primary documents are often published as monographs. Adding the term "sources" to your library catalog search terms to help find these collections.
For example:

Germany -- History -- Revolution, 1918 -- Sources.

Earlham Libraries Catalog & Beyond This link opens in a new window
Catalog of books, media, and other materials available in the Earlham Libraries. Also searches libraries worldwide through WorldCat.

Select Primary Sources

United Nations Library & Archives

The UN system is based on five principal organs: the General Assembly, the Security Council, the Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC), the Secretariat, and the International Court of Justice. Guides produced by the United Nations:

League of Nations Archives
Over 14.2 million pages of League of Nations documents and related archival material have now been digitized and are freely available via the League of Nations Archives.
UN Archives Research Guides
UN Archives - Ask An Archivist

International Labour Organization

International Labor Organization
The only tripartite U.N. agency, since 1919 the ILO brings together governments, employers and workers of 187 Member States, to set labour standards, develop policies and devise programs promoting decent work for all people.
History of the ILO
Includes links to key documents, photographs, and a timeline.
ILO History Research Guide
Oxford Bodleian Library -- League of Nations: Guide to documents and publications

Select European Sources

EuroDocs: Primary Historical Documents From Western Europe
An extensive primary source database that focuses on key historical happenings in Western Europe from medieval times to the present. Searchable by country.
European History Primary Sources
Attempts to bring together all digitized primary sources pertaining to European history. A joint venture between organizations participating in the European University Institute.
UK National Archives
Britain offers a wide range of digitized documents from the Domesday Book (ca 1085 AD) to current day. A variety of materials is available through the Exhibitions link.

Modern History Sourcebook - Socialism

Modern History Sourcebook - World War I

Archives of Sexuality and Gender: Gale Primary Sources Archives This link opens in a new window
Primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender. Includes magazines, newspapers, pamphlets, and papers documenting United States and International perspectives on LGBTQ history, activism, and culture , primarily since 1940.
This collection at Earlham was made possible by an ARPA grant from the U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services, administered by the Indiana State Library.