Skip to main content
Banner Image
ESR & Bethany Resources
Science & Technology Commons
Friends Collection & College Archives
Facilities & Services
Library Home

Quakers and Abolitionism: Small Collections

Slavery and Anti-Slavery Resources in the Friends Collection & Earlham College Archives

Introduction

SC, or Small Collections, are collections that are usually only one item to one folder in size. Small collections include diaries, letters, commonplace books, account books, notebooks, and autograph books. A member of the Archives' staff will be happy to assist you if you wish to study one or more of these collections.

Small Collections

Earlham also holds several smaller collections that are useful for the history of the anti-slavery movement and the Underground Railroad in the Midwest. They include:

SC 6: Jonathan Strattan Papers, 1860-1878

Photocopies of two letters, 1860, 1878, by Walter Edgerton (1806-1879), a Friend of Spiceland, Ind., concerning his activities as an Anti-Slavery Friend and his opposition to innovation among Friends in the 1870s. Copies provided by Anna May Hamilton, Russiaville, Ind., 1991.

SC 11: Job Hadley Reminiscence, 1883-1884

Job Hadley (1816-1895) was a prominent Conservative Friend of Amo, Hendricks County, Ind. This reminiscence focuses on his memories of slavery and work among the freedmen during and after the Civil War. Also included is a short account of the work of his wife, Tacy (Burgess) Hadley (1817-1899). Transferred from Harlow Lindley Collection.

SC 20: Lizzie Edwards Diary, 1866

Lizzie Edwards (1835-1927) was a Friend of Spiceland, Ind. who later married Asa Holloway of Spiceland. Part of the diary was kept while teaching in a freedmen's school near Vicksburg, Mississippi. Photocopy; gift of Rosemary Holloway, 1988.

SC 46: Individual Letters, 1768-1984

This is a collection of individual letters related to Quaker life that have been either purchased by or donated to the Archives.

SC 55: Hosea Smith Family Papers. 1801-1920

Hosea Smith (1773-1846), was a Friend living in Perquimans County, North Carolina, disowned in 1810 for selling two slaves. In the same year he brought his family to Pike County, Ind. The papers consist of letters written by Hosea Smith 1810-1823, to relatives in North Carolina, a family history begun by Hosea in 1844 and continued by descendants until 1920, and miscellaneous accounts. Photocopies transferred from FMS 33

SC 65: Lydia Thomas Baldwin Collection

Lydia (Thomas) Baldwin (1814-1899), wife of Thomas Baldwin (1813-1899), was an Orthodox Friend who lived near Fairmount in Grant County, Ind. The collection consists of a reminiscence written in 1897, with a transcript. Subjects include early Quaker settlers of Grant County, the Underground Railroad, Anti-Slavery Friends, and pioneer life. Gift of Don and Janet Hoke Garner, 1992.

SC 113: Aaron L. Benedict Collection

Aaron Lancaster Benedict (1804-1867) was a Gurneyite Friend of Alum Creek Monthly Meeting in Morrow County, Ohio. The collection consists of two documents apparently transcribed ca. 1900 by his son Livius A. Benedict (1834-1908): an account of a visit by Aaron Lancaster, grandfather of A.L. Benedict, to Old Neck Meeting in North Carolina; and a poem on slavery by A.L. Benedict, 1838.

SC 129: William B. Thompson Collection

William B. Thompson (1813- ) was a Friend from Orange County, North Carolina, who settled near Monrovia, Morgan County, Ind. in 1844. Later in life he became a Methodist. The collection consists of a typescript of his autobiography, with information on family history, his early life and education, travel, and his impressions of slavery. Gift of W. Willis Thompson, 1974.

SC 142: Economy Anti-Slavery Society Collection

Minutes and membership records of the Economy, Ind. Anti-Slavery Society, an organization advocating the immediate abolition of slavery, 1840. Transferred from the Harlow Lindley Collection, 1964.

SC 173: James Ladd Collection

James Ladd (ca. 1740-1806) was a Quaker minister of Henrico Monthly Meeting residing in Charles City County, Virginia. The collection consists of diaries, 1776-1798, of his travels as a minister among Friends in Virginia and Pennsylvania, with reflections on slavery and Quaker affairs.

SC 182: Frederick Hoover Collection, ca. 1850

Frederick Hoover (1783-1868), a native of Randolph County, North Carolina, was a member of one of the first Quaker families to settle near Richmond, Ind. The collection consists of a series of recollections, written about 1850, dealing with the Hicksite Separation among Friends, the abolitionist movement and its effect on Quakers, fugitive slaves, and theological questions.

SC 188: Elijah Coate Collection

Elijah Coate (1812-1886) was a native of Miami County, Ohio, who died in Richmond, Ind. The collection consists of an autobiography, apparently written near the end of his life, and a sermon preached at Economy, Ind., in 1863. Coate, born a Quaker, later became a Wesleyan Methodist minister. The autobiography includes considerable material on Coate's opposition to slavery. Copy of original in Wayne County Historical Society, acquired 1998.

SC 214: Jessop-Coffin-Hussey Collection

The Coffin-Hussey portion of the collection comprises letters and documents concerning the family of Aaron Coffin (1760-1846) and his wife Sarah Hussey and their son George Fox Coffin (1814-1901), a Quaker of Shelby Co., Ind., who married Lydia Jessop (1816-1884), a descendant of Thomas Jessop. It includes letters, legal and business receipts, an essay on antislavery politics, and genealogical information on the Jessop family. Transferred from FMS 91, 2002.

SC 222: Osborn Family Collection, 1827-1957

The Osborn Collection consists of material relating to Charles Osborn (1775-1850), an Orthodox Quaker minister and antislavery leader who lived in North Carolina, Tennessee, Ohio, and Indiana. Included is an undated letter of Charles Osborn; an 1827 letter and 1841 address to an abolitionist convention in Union County, Indiana, by his son Isaiah Osborn (1803-1846); and material on the history of Economy, IN.

SC 224: Daniel Worth Collection, 1836-1970

Rev. Daniel Worth (1795-1862) was a Quaker turned Wesleyan Methodist minister who became a national celebrity when he was jailed in North Carolina in December 1859 on charges of inciting disaffection among slaves. This collection includes an 1860 letter by Worth, biographical material, and material concerning the Fountain City, Indiana, Wesleyan Church, of which he was a founder.

SC 225: Mount Pleasant Free Labor Store Collection

This collection consists of a list of stockholders in a "Free Labor Store," one that sold no goods produced by slave labor, in Mt. Pleasant, Ohio. Although undated, it probably dates from about 1850. Transferred from Harlow Lindley Collection.

SC 234: Jonathan Swain Collection

Jonathan Swain (1798-1872) was a Quaker, abolitionist, and Spiritualist in Union County, Ind. This collection consists of an autobiography, with considerable reminiscence of his childhood in Guilford County, North Carolina; his pioneer life in Indiana; his reflections on religious doctrine; and his interests in antislavery and Spiritualism. Typescript, donation, 2004.

SC 250: Jeremiah Hubbard Collection

Jeremiah Hubbard (1777-1849) was a prominent Orthodox Quaker minister in North Carolina and Indiana. He was a central figure in the Hicksite separation in 1827-1828, particularly in Ohio Yearly Meeting. Later he became controversial for his outspoken support of linking the abolition of slavery with colonization of former slaves. This collection consists of a "Farewell Address" written in Ohio in 1828.

SC 335: William Rees Papers, 1833-1854

The Rees Papers consist mainly of William Ree's diary of attendance at Indiana, North Carolina, Philadelphia, and Baltimore yearly meetings in 1854 as a companion to Mary Thomas, a minister. Rees included observations about slavery, the New Garden boarding school, and the separation in Ohio Yearly Meeting in 1854. Also included is a brief journal of religious reflections from 1833.

 

 

Earlham College • 801 National Road West • Richmond, Indiana 47374-4095