Skip to main content
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: South China Morning Post (1903-1995)
The first English language newspaper published in Hong Kong. Provides cover-to-cover full text articles from 1903 to 1995, including editorials, advertisements, cartoons, and classified advertisements, is searchable.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chinese Newspapers Collection (1832-1953)
English-language newspapers and periodicals produced in China. Includes the North China Herald (1850-1941), the Chinese Repository (1832-1851), the Chinese Recorder (1868-1941), the China Weekly Review (1923-1950), and more. Ads, social notices etc. are all separately indexed and searchable.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Daily Yomiuri
The Daily Yomiuri contains articles from the English language edition of the Yomiuri Shimbun English edition published in Tokyo. Content from 1996 up to the past five years.
United States Newspaper
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times
Full-text page images of the newspaper, including advertisements, editorial cartoons, etc. Coverage is from 1851 up to the past three years and includes the New York Times Book Review and the New York Times Magazine.
United Kingdom Newspapers
The Times (London) Digital Archives
Full-text page images of the newspaper, including advertisements, editorial cartoons, etc. Coverage is from 1785-1985.
Illustrated London News Historical Archive: 1842-2003
Full-text page images of the complete run of the newspaper, including all content originally published. Covers social, political and cultural history, including fashion, theatre, media, literature, advertising and graphic design, and genealogy.
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada), focusing on the 15th century forward. The standard history indexing tool for over 50 years, now including abstracts from more than 2,600 journals.
Full text of hundreds of scholarly journals in all disciplines dating back to the 1700s.
Academic Search Premier
Comprehensive index to scholarly journals and general periodicals in all subject and interdisciplinary areas, including full text. Coverage prior to 1990 is sparse.
Periodicals Archive Online
Full text of 425 journals and magazines covering all topics dating back to the 1800s. Coverage ends at 2000.
Finding Known Articles
Steps for finding items listed in bibliographies
- Locate a bibliographic citation. Look at the list of sources in subject encyclopedias and bibliographies.
- Check to see if we have local access to the item or can obtain through interlibrary loan.
"Find It @ Earlham Libraries"
can help determine if articles are in databases and also can facilitate searching for books in our library catalog and WorldCat.
- Request items through interlibrary loan. Use the forms in Illiad or use the links in WorldCat and databases.
Associate Library Director
Subjects:2017 Fall Semester Courses
, 2017 Spring Semester Courses
, African & African American Studies (AAAS)
, Chinese Studies
, Museum Studies
, Theatre Arts
, Women's, Gender, Sexuality Studies
Earlham College • 801 National Road West • Richmond, Indiana 47374-4095