Skip to main content
Print Collections of Primary Documents in the Earlham Libraries
Primary Documents on the Internet
Historic Newspaper Archives
Library purchased archives
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Daily Yomiuri
The Daily Yomiuri contains articles from the English language edition of the Yomiuri Shimbun English edition published in Tokyo. Content from 1996 up to the past five years.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: South China Morning Post (1903-1995)
The first English language newspaper published in Hong Kong. Provides cover-to-cover full text articles from 1903 to 1995, including editorials, advertisements, cartoons, and classified advertisements, is searchable.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chinese Newspapers Collection (1832-1953)
English-language newspapers and periodicals produced in China. Includes the North China Herald (1850-1941), the Chinese Repository (1832-1851), the Chinese Recorder (1868-1941), the China Weekly Review (1923-1950), and more. Ads, social notices etc. are all separately indexed and searchable.
Internment Primary Document Databases
Japanese American Internment: Records of the Franklin D. Roosevelt Library
This publication consists of the documents from The Papers of Franklin D. Roosevelt, Small Collections, “Japanese American Internment Collections,” in the custody of the Franklin D. Roosevelt Library, Hyde Park, N.Y.
Final Accountability Rosters of Japanese-American Relocation Centers, 1944-1946
This collection provides primary-source, demographic information on the forced internment "evacuees" resident at the various relocation camps during World War II, an important segment of the American population--persons of Japanese descent.
Japanese-American Relocation Camp Newspapers: Perspectives on Day-to-Day Life
This digital collection of Japanese relocation camp newspapers record the concerns and the day-to-day life of the interned Japanese-Americans during World War II. Although articles in these files frequently appear in Japanese, most of the papers are in English or in dual text. Many of the 25 titles constituting this collection are complete or substantially complete.
Personal Justice Denied: Public Hearings of the Commission on Wartime Relocation and Internment, 1981
The Commission on Wartime Relocation and Internment of Civilians (CWRIC) was established by act of Congress in 1980. This publication consists of the testimony and documents from more than 750 witnesses: Japanese Americans and Aleuts who had lived through the events of WWII, former government officials who ran the internment program, and historians, among others. Many of the transcripts are personal stories of experiences of evacuees. Documents include publications, reports, press releases, photographs, newspaper clippings, etc. related to the hearings.
Earlham College • 801 National Road West • Richmond, Indiana 47374-4095