Skip to main content
Credo Reference: A Scholarly Wikipedia
The academic alternative to Wikipedia! Provides access to nearly 500 encyclopedias and dictionaries. Search by concept map. Includes thousands of searchable images.
Historical Newspapers/Magazines - Full Text: British
The Times (London) Digital Archives
Full-text page images of the newspaper, including advertisements, editorial cartoons, etc. Coverage is from 1785-1985.
Illustrated London News Historical Archive: 1842-2003
Full-text page images of the complete run of the newspaper, including all content originally published. Covers social, political and cultural history, including fashion, theatre, media, literature, advertising and graphic design, and genealogy.
Full text of over 70 magazines published in Britain from the 1680s to the 1930s. The material herein can usually be considered "primary documents."
Books: Print and E-Format
Early English Books Online
Full text of almost 100,000 books published between 1475-1700.
ProQuest Ebook Central
Contains over 140,000 ebooks that you can read online or download. Titles also appear in the Library Catalog, but going direct through this link will let you search the full-text of all the books and browse every title. (Formerly ebrary.)
EBSCO ebook Academic Collection
Contains over 160,000 ebooks with unlimited user access that you can read online or download. Titles also appear in the Library Catalog, but going direct through this link will let you search the full-text of all the books and browse every title.
Earlham Libraries Catalog & Beyond
Catalog of books, media, and other materials available in the Earlham Libraries. Also searches libraries worldwide through WorldCat.
Articles: General Resources
Academic Search Premier
Comprehensive index to scholarly journals and general periodicals in all subject and interdisciplinary areas, including full text. Coverage prior to 1990 is sparse.
Artemis Literary Sources (inc. Literature Resource Center)
"Biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world." Allows cross-searching of Literature Resource Center, LitFinder, and a selection of Gale Virtual Reference Library titles.
Full text of hundreds of scholarly journals in all disciplines dating back to the 1700s.
Subjects:2017 Fall Semester Courses
, 2017 Spring Semester Courses
, Ancient & Classical Studies
, Chinese Studies
, Comparative Languages & Linguistics (CLL)
, ELL - English Language Learning
, Film Studies
, French & Francophone Studies
, German & German Studies
, Japanese Studies
, Latin American Studies
, Medieval Studies
, Spanish & Hispanic Studies
Earlham College • 801 National Road West • Richmond, Indiana 47374-4095