Skip to main content
Library Purchased Reference Sources
Oxford Music Online
Contains the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians (2nd edition, 2001), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera (1992), and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, (2nd edition, 2002).
Classical Music Reference Library
Classical Music Reference Library brings together a variety of essential reference materials, spanning the entire history of Western classical music, in a unified online database.
Oxford Reference - Performing Arts
Oxford Reference – Performing Arts
Contains the complete texts of Oxford University Press performing art dictionaries and encyclopedias, including companions for music, theater, opera, and dance.
ABC-CLIO eBooks Reference Collection
Over 50 music encyclopedias including many on specific genres, such as country, folk, funk, hip-hop, punk, heavy metal, bluegrass, jazz, and musical theater. Click on "Popular Culture" and then "Music & Performing Arts" to browse.
Biography in Context
Information on people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. Includes content from dozens of published reference works and hundreds of periodicals.
Biography Reference Bank
Offers the in-depth, original profiles from the Current Biography and World Authors series, the thorough periodical coverage of Biography Index and the specialist biographical content of Junior Authors & Illustrators. It provides biographical full-text articles, page images and abstracts from today’s leading magazines and journals.
Biography Reference Center
This database offers a collection of full-text biographies and unique narrative biographies. Including coverage for several of the most popular and heavily-researched biographies and genres, including those contained within Biography Today and Biography (both dating back to the first issue published).
Pop Culture Universe
Overview essays on American popular culture by decade from 1900s through 2000s. For each decade includes sections on Architecture and Housing; Books and Literature; Business, Advertising, and Consumer Culture; Clothing, Fashion, and Appearance; Film; Food and Drink; Music; Performing Arts and Theater; Recreation and Leisure; Sports; Technology and Media; Television and Radio; Transportation and Travel; and Visual Arts.
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music
Call Number: Lilly Ready Reference ML100 .G16 1998
Publication Date: 1997-08-01
Music research on all the world's peoples. More than 9,000 pages of material, combined with entries by more than 700 expert contributors from all over the world, make this the most complete body of work focused on world music.
Includes 1,217 essays and images from 10 sources and hundreds of audio examples. Available in print and online. Audio examples available streaming online or from CD's available at the circulation desk.
Finding new music - Blogs, etc.
Hype Machine -
Music blog aggregator. Pulls hit songs off music blogs across the web and allows users to vote on them.
Self described as "The source for new music from emerging bands”, Daytrotter records live sessions with musicians and makes them available to download.
BBC Radio 6 Music - Gilles Peterson
"The formula for Gilles' radio shows is a simple one: the finest new music he can lay his hands on? and that's it. From Sun-Ra to Roy Hargrove to Theo Parrish to Flying Lotus - if it swings in the right places, it's in. His shows are a marker for everything that is great about underground music from Brooklyn to Benin and beyond."
Brings together content from multiple NPR programs, such as "All Songs Considered" and "World Cafe", and live concert series such as "Tiny Desk Concerts" and "Studio Sessions".
Earlham College • 801 National Road West • Richmond, Indiana 47374-4095