Skip to main content
Databases - General in Scope
Web of Science
Keyword and citation indexing of major journals across scientific disciplines, 1981 to present. Web of Science includes Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index, BIOSIS (1984-present) and Social Sciences Citation Index. Also includes content from Web of Knowledge (1950-present).
Academic Search Premier
Comprehensive index to scholarly journals and general periodicals in all subject and interdisciplinary areas, including full text. Coverage prior to 1990 is sparse.
Full text of annual summaries of scholarship in over three dozen academic disciplines.
Full text of hundreds of scholarly journals in all disciplines dating back to the 1700s.
LexisNexis Academic (now Nexis Uni)
Full text of hundreds of newspapers and legal resources.
General Science Abstracts
Indexes periodicals on astronomy, biology, chemistry, earth sciences, math, medicine, and physics, 1983 to present. Earlham subscribes to almost all of the content, either as online full text or as print.
Databases - Discipline specific
American Chemical Society (ACS) Journal Archives
Full text of articles published in American Chemical Society Journals, 1879 to present.
Full text of over 50 journals from scholarly science societies: with an emphasis on vertebrate and invertebrate biology, ecology, and the environment. Coverage from 2000 to the present.
Indexes and abstracts periodicals dealing with environmental topics, with limited full text. Coverage varies widely by individual periodical title.
Full text of over 30 journals in the geosciences dating back to the mid-1970s for most journals.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Coverage of nursing and allied health fields is particularly strong.
Produced by the American Mathematical Association, this databases indexes international literature on mathematics, statistics, and computer science, as well as their applications to a broad range of other disciplines.
PsycINFO (remember to add PsycArticles)
Indexes and abstracts the international literature of psychology, 1887 to present.
MEDLINE with Full Text
Authoritative information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences, plus full text for more than 1,470 journals indexed in MEDLINE.
InterLibrary Loan (ILLIAD)
Find an article using Google Scholar
Do you already know what you're looking for? Try searching Google Scholar for the title of the article.
Earlham College • 801 National Road West • Richmond, Indiana 47374-4095